Oh Evie, I just want to quote you!

I’m currently about a third of the way through ‘Anthropology of an American Girl’ by Hilary Thayer Hamann, and on almost every page is a sentance I want to quote. I find myself constantly moved by protagonist Evie’s experience of the world. I honestly thought Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld was the word on girls in high school, and though moments in this book can be reminiscent of Prep, the prose soars far higher. Evie is an incredibly nuanced character who breaks down the layers of societal politeness, to see truthfully what is beneath, and yet she still ‘plays the game’. The hefty 600page long tome reminds me of some of the best literature I’ve read in the last few years, Wetlands, The Plumed Serpent, Prep.
The fact that Thayer Haman self-published this after numerous rejections, and sold 5000 copies by herself is proof in itself of how compelling this work is. I can’t wait to start selling it in August when it is released in Australia.
Here’s a little taste:
“In the barn I climbed to the loft and lay there, hands on my chest. I was a body lying and Maman was a body lying, both on the same day, three streets apart. Above me was the roof. Above her, the coppery old earth pressed sizably, like a sulphur quilt. She was still so close, as unaccustomed to death as newborns are to the breezy world beyond the womb.”
-Anthropology of an American Girl by Hilary Thayer Hamann

God I love it. She’s a writer who makes me want to write, and those are rare. Pre-order yourself a copy, it’s going to be the major hit of August-December!

~ by ConsanguineousMind on July 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
